Really Awesome Banana Pancakes


Grain-Free Banana Pancakes

Pancakes! I never ever make pancakes. I probably haven’t had pancakes in 6+ months (not to mention grain pancakes in like, years). Partly because I never crave pancakes or waffles, and partly because I haven’t found a recipe or created a recipe good enough to make over and over again.

Today I woke up, went on Facebook (obviously) and saw Against All Grain’s post about this pancake recipe. Then I went to the kitchen and opened the fridge and saw eggs, kale, bacon, and parsnips. A bacon, kale, parsnip scramble just didn’t scream “EAT ME”. BAM PANCAKES!

I totally made this recipe kind of incorrectly.. you think I would have learned by now to read an entire recipe before making it, but I was hungry and didn’t want to. Whoopsies. But it don’t matta! They still ROCKED. Best pancake recipe by far. Below is the ingredients list and directions taken exactly from her website. Below that I will let you know what I did differently :)

Ingredients (makes 8-10 small pancakes)

3 large eggs, at room temperature
1/4 cup non dairy milk (I use coconut or almond)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon honey
2 tablespoons coconut flour
1/3 cup blanched almond flour (Honeyville or Digestive Wellness works best)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 overly ripe banana (brown spots are the best!)
1/4 cup chocolate chips (we use Enjoy Life – omit for SCD)
Butter or coconut oil for the pan

Directions

Mix together the wet ingredients, beating well until the eggs are beaten and slightly foamy.

Combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, then incorporate them into the wet. Whisk well until combined, then let sit for 3-5 minutes to let the coconut flour soak up some of the moisture.

Heat a cast iron (or non-stick) pan over medium-high heat. You can also use a griddle to make more pancakes at once. Mix the batter again, then begin making your pancakes.

Oil the pan with coconut oil or butter, then pour about a 1/4 cup of batter per pancake. The pancakes are easier to flip if you keep them small, about 4 inches in diameter.

Once the pancake begins to bubble, place a couple of slices of banana and a pinch of chocolate chips on top.

Carefully flip the pancake over, and cook for another minute until the pancake has fluffed up an feels slightly firm.

Keep hot in a warm oven until you are done making the remainder of the pancakes.

These are best eaten immediately, but if you have leftovers you can warm them in a toaster the next day.

Enjoy!

3 large eggs, at room temperature
1/4 cup non dairy milk (I use coconut or almond)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon honey (I used 1/2 teaspoon)
2 tablespoons coconut flour
1/3 cup blanched almond flour (Honeyville or Digestive Wellness works best)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 overly ripe banana (brown spots are the best!)
1/4 cup chocolate chips (we use Enjoy Life – omit for SCD)
Butter or coconut oil for the pan

I was really too lazy to wait for the eggs to come to room temperature and I only had just ripe bananas.

As for the step by step instructions, the only difference is that I mixed the banana into the wet batter. I soften the banana in the skin in between my fingers and then put the banana pieces in with the beaten eggs, vanilla, milk, and honey. When I added the dry ingredients mixture to the wet ingredients, I broke the bananas pieces down further into smaller bits by using a fork. It still maintained a batter consistency… and was DELICIOUS.

Grain-Free Banana Pancakes

Grain-Free Banana PancakesAgain, this recipe is not mine, I just made it and read the directions wrong (in a good way!) It is from Against All Grain. She has amazing Paleo recipes that you should definitely check out!

2 thoughts on “Really Awesome Banana Pancakes

  1. Julia — I’ve made these from your recipe about four times now. I love them drizzled with a bit of maple syrup and butter :) Keep posting recipes like this one … And I’ll keep baking them. I posted a photo on my Instagram page (jagnyc227) if you want to see how they turned out!

Leave a Reply

