Latkes


Happy Hanukkah!!

Yesterday I celebrated Hanukkah by eating great food. Holiday = an excuse to eat more… Right?! I made latkes and my grandmother’s traditional beef brisket, though I healthy/Paleo-ized it by making the sauce from scratch (& adding wine). I would post the recipe since it got ‘rave’ reviews, but I started with a base and then tweaked it as I saw fit… aka I only know quantities-ish. I was however able to formulaize my latkes! I made three kinds: zucchini, carrot & parsnip, and sweet potato. Yumyum. All latkes were heavily enjoyed and consumed- success.  I’d actually never eaten a parsnip before in my life, but I wanted to experiment and after tasting a nibble of raw parsnip, decided that carrot with a smidge of onion and scallion would complement it. I love when I’m right : D

>Serves 10-12 latkes
>5 minutes prep time
>20 minutes cook time

Sweet Potato or Zucchini Latkes
2C grated sweet potato or zucchini
1/4C chopped onion
1tbsp coconut flour
2 eggs beaten
4-6 tbsp oil of choice (I used coconut)
Salt and pepper

*for the zucchini, you might want to start by adding in 1 beaten egg and 1 tbsp coconut flour, and then add half of the egg or the whole second egg depending on how much water you were able to drain from the zucchini.  If you thoroughly dried out the zucchini, 2 eggs will be perfect).

Parsnip & Carrot Latkes
1/2C grated parsnip
1/2C grated carrot
1/8C chopped onion
1tbsp chopped scallion
2 eggs beaten
1tbsp coconut flour
4-6 tbsp oil of choice (I used coconut)
Salt and pepper

1. Grate your veggies. I used my crazy awesome new food processor so that’s why the prep time is so short… Hand grating will take way longer… Yay Cyber Monday purchase!  (If you’re using zucchini, remember to squeeze out all excess water).
2. Chop your onion (& scallion) and combine in a bowl with your veg or potato.
3. Add the coconut flour and beaten eggs and thoroughly combine. Is easiest to use your hands for th even distribution.
4. Heat your skillet on medium heat and add enough oil to coat the bottom of your pan.
5. Once, your pan is very hot, make your latkes.  I used a heaping tablespoon of veg per latke.
6. Cook one side for 3 minutes and flip for another 2-3.
7. Wait to cool, then top with applesauce (I unfortunately didn’t have enough time to make home made applesauce… maybe next time!)

Mangiare!

A couple things to keep in mind- zucchini is insanely watery. I used six Bounty paper towels (you know, the crazy absorbent one), and I still should have used more! You want your latkes to be water free so that the water doesn’t cook out and leave you with disproportionate binding to zucchini ratio. Carrot, sweet potato, and parsnip lacked the extra water, so that was fantastic.

Oh, I also made roasted rosemary carrots because latkes don’t count as vegetables… but I forgot them in the oven. Luckily the oven was off so they’re still good to eat. I would have been annoyed if I had to dump 2.5lbs of yummy carrots!

We concluded our evening with some dreidel and Manishevitz action, it was only right!  What is better than celebrating a holiday with great food and awesome people?!

One thought on “Latkes

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recap |

Leave a Reply

