Turkey Nuggets


Paleo Turkey Nuggets! I wanted to make chicken nuggets, but Trader Joe’s didn’t have any ground chicken and I sadly don’t own this so I can’t use chicken breasts. (*Hint*Hint* …in the ice color 😉 lol). I never crave chicken nuggets ever, but I wanted to make flourless chicken nuggets just to see how good I could get them. Well let’s just say that after tasting it, my roommate said “It tastes like flour!” – with a confused look on his face, haha. Success! & it’s super easy.

The other day I made homemade ketchup which was yummy and great with these nuggs, but I don’t have the exact measurements, so next time I make it I’ll pay more attention to the proportions. Nuggs wouldn be awesome with a side of steamed veggies.

>Serves 4, makes 16-18 nuggets
>Prep time 5 minutes
>Cooking time 20 minutes

-1lb ground turkey (could def use ground chicken)
-1C almond flour
-3 eggs
-1/2 tsp salt (+ a pinch)
-1/4 tsp dried basil, oregano, parsley, onion powder
-1/2 tsp paprika
-1 tsp chili powder
-pepper
-oil (I used olive)

1. In a medium bowl, add your ground turkey, salt, basil, oregano, parsley, onion powder, paprika, and pinch of pepper. Using your hands, thoroughly mix together.
2. In a small bowl mix your almond flour, pinch of salt and pepper, and chili powder. Mix.
3. In another small bowl, beat your eggs.
4. Preheat your oven to 400 and coat your pan with oil.
5. Make small golf ballish size meat balls and using tongs, dunk them in the egg wash and plop in the ‘flour’ bowl. Use another pair of tongs to coat the meat. Plop meat back in the eggs, then back in the flour. (Use two separate utensils, one for eggs and one for flour. Otherwise, you’ll create a mess and waste lots of flour by getting extra egg mixed in).
6. When you put your meat on the pan, smoosh them slightly so that they are more nugget snapped than balls.
7. Stick them in the oven for 10 minutes and then flip them over and put them in for another 10 or until they’re fully cooked.

Confession: I only made half of the nuggets this way- I used half the amount of all the ingredients listed for the wash and breading and didn’t have time to make more because I needed to nap before work (overnight shift, exciting). To get the rest if them cooked quickly, I just rolled them into balls and baked them without breading… Still really good with the seasoning I put in the meat!

(The lighting in the pictures are different because I took them at different times. Whoopsies. I’ll get better with the whole picture stuff…)

One thought on “Turkey Nuggets

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Resolution |

Leave a Reply

