Breakfast Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms


 

Wicked awesome alternative to bacon & eggs! I’ve recently been wanting to stuff portobello mushrooms with something for breakfast, I don’t know why, I just have. I think because it looks pretty… Which is the most important factor with eating a meal, right?? HA. Given the fact that I didn’t even crack some pepper or sprinkle parsley over my eggs, I’m clearly joking about that. Don’t worry, next time I’ll snap out of it make my my food prettier and more visually appealing.

Anyway, shrooms. They’re great, used to hate them though. I feel so mature when I’m eating mushrooms because I always saw them as ‘adult’ food. Haha. So this recipe is awesome because you can add whatever you have in your fridge, to them. These are the foods I had, so this is what I made!

Lets talk eggs… You have options- baked, poached, or fried.
Baked egg, just make a little nook for the egg to fit inside the filling and bake in the oven @400 for 15 minutes. Note: The egg always looks lovely, but it creates a hardened layer on top- I’ve researched is and all the recipes I find no one says they have this issue, I’ve even tried 350 for 20 minutes. Tastes good still though.
Poached egg I’m new at. I just cracked it in really really hot water just prior to boiling eat and used a spoon to constantly stir water up and over it to (kind of) keep it oval shape. I’m new at this, so I want tell you which way to make it- if you have a successful poaching method, I’m jealous, teach me?
You can always fry your egg to whatever level of cooking you prefer, then place on top, or you could even scramble the eggs in with the stuffing.

>Serves 2-3
>Prep time: 5
>Cooktime: 15 on stove + 12-20 oven (plus 20 for bacon)

If you do fried, scrambled, or poached, you’ll only need to put your mushrooms in the oven or 10-12 minutes to let the mushroom cook and brown the top of your stuffing. I suppose you could always put the mushroom in the oven while you’re making your stuffing and save time! Then just layer on your filling then place your egg a top.. Only this way you won’t have a crisp top.

– 2-3 portobello mushrooms (mine were quite large so I had some filling left over, but not nearly enough for another large shroom.. If I had small while shrooms I could have stuffed small mushrooms with the excess)
– 1C shredded sweet potato
– 1C shredded zucchini
– 1/2C diced yellow onion
– 2 large handfuls of spinach
– 3 strips bacon
– 2tbsp bacon fat
– 1tsp paprika
– 1tsp basil
– salt & pepper

1. Bake your bacon in the oven on a foil lined baking sheet for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. (Turn you oven to 400 once you take the bacon out.)
2. While that is baking, chop your onions, and shred your sweet potato and zucchini.
3. Once your bacon is cooked, add you bacon fat to your pan on medium heat with you sweet potato, zucchini, and onion. Add your salt, pepper, basil.
4. Once your ‘veggies’ have softened, about 10-13 minutes on medium heat with your seasonings, add your spinach and chopped bacon pieces. Leave in low with the lid on for 5 minutes.
5. Scoop out the mushroom guts and stem and season your mushrooms with salt and pepper and put a bit of bacon fat one the bottom of the mushrooms.
6. Scoop your filling into the mushrooms, make sure you keep a ditch in the middle and build ‘walls’ if your baking the egg.
7. If baking the eggs, place in oven for 15-20 minutes. If you’re putting the egg on top, you only need the mushrooms to be in the oven for 10-12 minutes. Do your egg thang how you want while shroom is in the oven.

Mangia

Leave a Reply

