Rosemary Beet Chips


Rosemary Beet Chips

First off… I just completed my 6th overnight shift in a row… and I’m still awake… blogging… what’s wrong with me?

I never liked beets until recently. Aka they always freaked me out and I never tried then until recently. Now I’m a beet lover for ever!

I attempted making beet chips a couple times recently… Way harder than I anticipated. I figured, you slice ’em, oil ’em, and bake ’em. Voila! Wronggg. They shrunk to teeny tiny itty bitty pieces. #learnfromyourmistakes

Baking beet chips on a baking sheet with another baking sheet on top of them is the answer. I don’t know why or how, but it somehow helps to create the crunch without the shrink. I think it’s a combination of the heat from the metal on the top and bottom of the chip, together with the lack of airflow. Interesting stuff! Now onto the yummies…

>Serves 2
>Prep time 5 minutes
>Cook time 25 minutes
1 medium beet
3/4 tsp olive oil
1 heaping tsp chopped fresh rosemary
1/8 tsp salt
1. Preheat your oven to 350.  Peel your beet.
2. Using a mandolin slicer, slice your beets very thinly.  *WARNING: Pay attention!  You will slice your finger otherwise… I say this from experience.  😦
3. In a large bowl, separate the slices so they’re not stacked on top of each other from when you sliced them.
4. Drizzle your olive oil and sprinkle your rosemary over your beets, and sprinkle a ‘pinchful’ of your salt.  Mix with your hands to evenly distribute.
4. Lay out your slices in one layer on a baking sheet.  (You’ll need 4 baking tray to make one beet in a single batch).  Sprinkle a bit more salt.
5. Place your second baking sheet right on top of your beets.  Place in the oven for 15 minutes.
6. After 15 minutes, remove top sheet and rotate beets.  Sprinkle another small pinch of salt.  Place in oven for another 5-10 minutes.  (7-8 minutes worked for me).
7. When you take them out of the oven, they should be various shades of red.  It’s good for them to still retain some vibrant red- watch closely, the burn easily. Place them on a wire cooling rack for about 5 minutes for them to cool.  They will also continue to crisp up will cooling.
8.  If you only had two baking sheets, repeat steps 5-7 with the second half of your beet.  Also- make sure to not use all of the salt for your first batch!

Rosemary Beet ChipsRosemary Beet Chips

One thought on “Rosemary Beet Chips

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Resolution |

Leave a Reply

