Sweet Potato Shepard’s Pie


Sweet Potato Shepards Pie

I don’t know why I’m still awake… I worked overnight last night and got out at 6am… went to 8am CrossFit class, then made coconut citrus pancakes, the picked up my laundry.. and now I’m blogging??? What is wrong with me???!!

In any event… I’ve been sick lately :/ Nothing crazy, just a sore throat and ear ache last week and a runny nose and sneezy this week, so I wanted some major comfy pajama-movie-watching food. Enter Shepard’s Pie! This is my take on Shepard’s Pie done Paleo.  Enjoy!

*A couple of notes on my recipe that are preference things: I added the celery pretty late in the recipe because I wanted to keep a bit of a crunchy texture. I also hand mashed the potatoes because I like the texture better than silky smooth potatoes. Don’t be scared of the parsnip, it gives a great texture- in this context it almost serves as small bites of white chopped potatoes, in fact, when I make this again I will add another parsnip (and another carrot too probably).  I love my veggies!!

>Serves: 5-9
>Prep time: 25 minutes
>Cook time: 5-6 minutes
Meaty Bottom
1/2 medium yellow onion
1 tsp crushed garlic (2-3 cloves)
3 medium carrots
2 celery stalks
1 parsnip
1lb ground beef
1C chicken stalk
1 tbsp + 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
1/8 tsp red pepper flakes
1/8 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp + 1/2 tsp oregano
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp thyme
Salt + pepper
Ghee for pan
Mushy Top
2 medium sweet potatoes
1/4 tsp garlic powder
Salt + pepper
1/2C full fat canned coconut milk

Sweet Potato Shepards Pie

1. Boil a medium pot of water.
2. Chop your sweet potatoes in 1″ cubes (I kept skin on, totally a preference thing.  Just make sure to wash them extra well if the skin is staying on).
3. Slice your onion. Chop your carrots and parsnip in similar sizes.
4. Add Ghee in medium heat skillet with garlic. Once it’s very hot, add parsnip, carrots, and onion. Add 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp thyme, and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Stir every couple of minutes.
5. Your water should be boiling at this point- add your sweet potatoes (try not to burn yourself with the scalding water…) and leave boiling for about 10 minutes, until a fork can easily slide enter the potatoes.
6. After you onions are a golden brown, add 1/2C chicken stalk. After a couple minutes add your meat. Break it up using a spatula and add your sliced celery.
7. To the top of your meat add 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes, 1/8 tsp paprika, salt, pepper, 1/8 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp oregano. Mix around And add the rest of your chicken stalk. Cover the lid for about five minutes.
8. Your potatoes should be soft now. Drain, and on very low heat, mash the potatoes and add coconut milk, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and paprika. Mix thoroughly and turn heat off. (I like my mashed potatoes with some texture, so I only using a hand masher, but if you prefer them silky smooth, use a hand mixer).
9. Put your oven on broil.
10. Open you skillet and add 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and mix around. Taste and add more seasonings if you like.
11. Scoop your meat mixture into your square glass dish using a slotted spatula. Try to omit as much liquid as you can.
12. Drizzle 1 tsp balsamic over the top.
13. Then cover the meat with your potatoes. Using a fork, create peaks on your potatoes (it crisps better this way).
14. Place in your broiler for 5-6 minutes.
Sweet Potato Shepards PieSweet Potato Shepards Pie

Bon Appitteeeee!

Leave a Reply

