Plantain Sandwich


Plantain Sandwich

^Roast beef, lettuce, homemade chipotle mayo
Plantain Sandwich

^Turkey, spinach, avocado (at night in my kitchen with awful lighting)

The other night I came home after working a bajillion hours at both my jobs and had zero desire to cook. I knew I shouldn’t order food or pick anything up, so I managed to force myself to make this. I made the bottom picture, the awfully lit turkey sandwich. I am SO glad that I did. It only took maybe 15 minutes and totally hit the spot. Plantains are inexpensive and are super easy to make a sandwich out of them- I’m sure they would even last if you were to make it in advance… I’ll have to try that actually…
Here’s a secret: I’m a terrible terrible speller. I alwaaaaays want to spell Sandwich as Sandwhich. Whoopsies.

Serves 1
Prep time: 2 minutes
Cook time: 8-10 minutes

  • 1 green plantain
  • 4 tablespoons lard
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • handful of spinach (or lettuce leaf)
  • 3 slices of turkey (or roast beef)
  • Optional: 1/2 an avocado and/or homemade mayo

1. Peel your green plantain.
2. Heat a skillet to medium-low heat and add your lard (or fat of choice). The smaller your pan the better- if your pan is large, you’ll need more fat. You want the fat to cover the plantain 1/3 of the way up.
3. Cut your plantain in half.
4. Place the plantain in the fat for 2-3 minutes, then flip for another 2-3 minutes.
5. Remove the plantain and smoosh. I layered paper towels on my cutting board and placed the plantains on the paper towels, I then placed more paper towels on top and placed a pan on top. I then pressed very hard to flatten the plantains.
6. Once you can’t flatten them anymore, put them back in the pan for about 2 more minutes and sprinkle 1/4 teaspoon salt, the flip for another 2 minutes and sprinkle the rest of the salt. You’re trying to get a crunchy exterior and firm, but not hard interior. (If you look at the pictures, you can see that the center of the sandwiches still has a bit of white coloring, you want a little bit of that so that the sandwich remains in tact and it has a bit of a bite).
7. When the plantains are done, smoosh them one more time.. for good measure ; ) Blot off extra grease and assemble your sammy!

Plantain Sandwich

Leave a Reply

