21 Day Sugar Detox: DAY 1-5


DAY 5:

I woke up at 5:45am this morning again! I didn’t jump out of bed like the other day, but I did make myself go workout before work. YAYY!! Makes me so happy!

Okay, detox update. Going well. Acne still persists/is worse. Diane, when will it go awaaaayyy?? In the book she says, “Acne is a common detox symptom and is a great sign that your body is working to clear toxins!” Boooo. But apparently it will get better. (It HAS too).

So happy I made breakfast for the week so I haven’t had to make breakfast every morning. Saves so much time and energy. I’ma share the recipe with y’all tomorrow. I think I’ll get my act down by then to post it! It’s amazing. I plan on making the same/similar on Sunday for this coming week. It’s mini personal (crustless) quiches with butternut squash bottom, sauteed onions, mushrooms, chorizo, and spinach. Daaaank.

DAY 4:

I still want chocolate.

(Somethings will never change…)Anyway. Day 4.  I was worried because after work today I was meeting four of my really good guy friends from college. I can’t recall ever hanging out with them when beer wasn’t involved… aside from going to classes together. Its just what we do. And when we don’t hang around drinking beer, we generally talk about beer. We’re all beer enthusiasts if you will. In fact, they’re probably the most beery (& beardy) dudes I know. ALSO- they don’t go for this whole paleo grain-free business. They don’t hate on it (well, generally speaking), so I was pretty worried (well, not worried, but like, interested) in seeing how they reacted when I was gunna say, “So, I’m not drinking with you guys. I’m on this 21 day sugar and paleo detox”. But guess what! The lunch I ate today tooooottalllyy screwed up my stomach. Which is weird because it was the same exact lunch I’ve eaten all week. I don’t know what happened, but my stomach is feeling wicked sensitive. In fact, for dinner I only ate a green-tipped banana and a handful of macadamia nuts. Crazy. Moral of the story- if you’re out at a bar and not drinking because you’re on a ‘diet’ of sorts, blame it on your upset stomach. 😉

Oh, and to report about the waking up this morning at 5:45am again to go to CrossFit. Well my alarm went off at 5:45. I got out of bed and walked to my phone and turned the alarm off. Then I went back into bed. My phone went off again at 6:00am. I had to pee reeeeeal bad, so I did what I had to do. Then I thought, I could go workout not and be a zombie all day because I’m dead tired, or I could go back to sleep. So I went back to sleep. I don’t think the waking up at 5:45am thing is going to be a hit back to back. It might have to be an every other day deal.

For my snack today I had a couple of handfuls of salted and roasted pumpkin seeds from when I carved pumpkins! I loosely used my roasted pumpkin seeds recipe from last year. I roasted them at 275, but the pan was a bit crowded and the seeds were very wet. So it took a lot longer than 7 minutes, more like 20-25. They came out perfectly though. I also just used salt. Like a better version of popcorn 😉

Pumpkin Seeds

DAY 3:

This ain’t so bad. I don’t feel worse but I don’t feel better. Well, I feel better than when I eat a super sweet cupcake, but, well, duh. Since people like pictures, here are some awful ones of what I ate today! Yay how interesting, what Julia ate today!

Oh! There has been one change- I’m not less tired, but for some reason when my alarm went off at 5:45am this morning to go to the gym… I ACTUALLY GOT OUT OF BED AND WENT! Crazy right??! So, I’m not sure if that means I’m less tired or just less lazy. I’m going to try again for tomorrow. I’ll make sure to report back. 😉

21DSD Day 3

DAY 2:

This isn’t so bad! But I still want chocolate…

Sunday I cooked for nearly 4 hours (well probably 3 hours with one hour of clean up…) I cooked so much so that I wouldn’t have to worry at all about cooking during the week. My work schedule doesn’t really allow for much kitchen time in the evenings, and I’m always late getting out of bed in the mornings, so I thought it best to have breakfast already made. I posted it on my Instagram this morning… SO GOOD. Meal prep is time consuming but SO SO worth it when you’re doing all that you can to control your eating. However, with that said, I did go out to dinner tonight. And to an Italian restaurant too! My  uncle was in town from California, so I wasn’t going to pass that up, duh. I shared a spinach salad with mushrooms, bacon, and hard boiled egg (no dressing), and for dinner I had chicken parm unbreaded and without the cheese… so pretty much grilled chicken with tomato sauce. It was still fantastic, and actually, that is what I have always gotten when I’ve gone to that restaurant! And of course, steamed veggies on the side instead of pasta. Yay! It’s possible to eat at an Italian restaurant on a Paleo +++ 21DSD diet! Success!

DAY 1:

I want chocolate.

Now, you can technically do the detox and include some super dark chocolate, but it’s a slippery slope my friends!

Today I began my first 21 Day Sugar Detox. The Sugar Detox is a 21 day program to help you reset your sugar cravings. It’s post Halloween week- who doesn’t have sugar overload?! I successfully made it through all of October without one single piece of Halloween candy (OMG I can’t believe it!) Buuut there is a Gluten-Free Crumbs cupcake shop suuper close to work…sooo that happened. Whoops :/ Anyway, yeah. If I have sugar cravings going into the Holiday Season, my my my, no bueno.

On top of getting rid of sugar cravings, I also decided to do this program to ensure that I am eating strict Paleo… no cheat meals for three weeks! I have started a new training program and I really really want to maximize my the efficiency of my body.

And if that’s not enough…. did you know that sugar can contribute to acne, rashes, PMS, fatigue, susceptibility to colds/flu, depression, Alzheimer’s disease, and several other diseases/health problems? (Learn more in the 21DSD book). EWWWW. Welllll, I would LOVEEEE to get rid of my acne (GROSS), limit the PMS, not be tired all the time (I’m caffeine-free & it’s a drag), and not get sick this winter. Soooo, here goes nothin’!

Side note: I’m doing the third level of the program, the 100% Paleo + no sugar. I’m also doing the energy modification, which basically means that I can eat sweet potatoes- YAY! because I work out pretty hard and often.

I thought that I would try to write up short summaries day to day of how it’s going in case anyone is curious and interested… if you’re not curious or interested, then… just look at my (not so great) pictures? I’m going to create a new post every 5 days so that I don’t spam those of you that get an email every time I post a new blog post! So if you’re curious on a day to day- look back to the latest post 🙂

Below is Hot & Sweet Ginger-Garlic Chicken (a recipe from the 21DSD book) on top of raw zucchini noodles and spinach, and some avocado. This was my lunch and dinner- delish.

21 DSD Day 1

2 thoughts on “21 Day Sugar Detox: DAY 1-5

  1. Pingback: Italian Chicken Salad | Broccoli&Bacon

  2. Pingback: Squash Pie | Broccoli&Bacon

Leave a Reply

