Spicy Sweet Potatoes


Spicy Sweet Potatoes

Who doesn’t like sweet potatoes?! OK, rhetorical question… I know people who don’t like sweet potatoes… but I just can’t comprehend that they’re telling the truth.

I personally think that sweet potatoes rock because they are a potato (duh) and they are good in any fashion… baked, roasted, wedges, slices, stuffed, mashed, sweet, spicy, salty…. so versatile and great for healthy carbs too!

To minimize the oven time because I was hungry, I sliced my sweet potatoes thin, like an 1/8″-1/4″. You could easily dice them up into thicker pieces or cut wedges, but that would have taken much longer and required the oven, not the broiler, in order to soften the inside and not just cook the outside. If you want them in wedges like steak fries, you’d just have to pop them in the oven for probably 30 minutes (depending on thickness) at around 400.

Note:Β I could only fit half of a sweet potato on one baking sheet at a time and my broiler only holds one baking sheet at a time, so I just did one batch because I was hungry right then and there. You can easily double this recipe to feed several people, or 2 very hungry hippos.

Serves: 2
Prep time: 2 minutes
Cook time: 12 minutes

  • 1/2 sweet pot
  • 1 1/2 tbsp coconut oil (melted)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • Pinch red chili flakes
  • 1/4 smoked paprika
  • 1/8 tsp onion pweder
  • 1/8 tsp chili powder

1. Wash your potato of excess dirt if you’re not peeling them!
2. Slice fairly thin. (1/8″ish)
3. Turn your broiler on.
4. Place foil (or parchment paper or something that is oven safe) over the baking sheet so that you have an easy clean up.
5. Drizzle the coconut oil on the foil and use a brush (or your fingers) so evenly distribute the oil over the entire surface.
6. Add all seasonings into a medium bowl, or a large ziplock bag.
7. Throw your potato slices into the bowl or bag and cover evenly with seasonings.
8. Place slices onto the foil making sure pieces aren’t touching.
9. Put the pan in the broiler for 4 minutes.Β Rotate the pan, another 3 minutes.
10. Flip each slice and place back in the broiler for 3 minutes. Rotate the pan, another 2 minutes.*

*Keep an eye on them. Things in the broiler can burn easily. Also- these times worked best for me, but depending on your broiler you might want to adjust the times. Also, I rotated mine twice because thing tend to come out a little uneven in my broiler, but yours might be in much better shape than mine. (My stove is a gas stove and reallyyyy old).

Spicy Sweet Potatoes

P.S. I did not realized how blurry and awful these pictures are. I apologize! Perhaps next time I’ll take prettier pictures. Hunger + Late evening = poor pictures Wompwomp.

Leave a Reply

