Chopped Chicken Liver


IMG_3259

Liver.

I used to hate liver. Unfairly so. I hated liver and didn’t want to be anywhere near liver or smell liver because it was gross. Eating an organ was gross. I never in a million years would have guessed that I would cook livers and made chopped liver and actually crave liver weekly. I wish I grew out of that stupid phase earlier. I wasted so many good years of liver consumption!!

After reading about all the ridiculous health benefits of liver, I decided to give it a go.
>Liver has the highest concentration of Vitamin A
>High in B Vitamins
>High in Iron, Zinc, and Copper
>High in Vitamins D, K, E
>Most amount of nutrients gram for gram than in any other food
>Etc etc etc…

I went to the butcher and asked for liverwurst. I had no idea what to expect. The butcher kindly offered me a taste of it and man I was hooked! Every Saturday since then I try to get my butt to the butcher to pick some up (and chicharones too because they have the BEST pork rinds ever. Unfortunately it’s not on the way to anything). I try to eat a couple of spoonfuls a day throughout the week. Usually I snack on it while I’m making dinner 🙂

Last week I asked my mom if we could have chopped liver for Thanksgiving and her reply was, “Sure that sounds great! If you make it we’ll include it”. Gee, thanks mom. Well it worked out great! My whole family loved it! I got asked for the recipe, and my grandfather (worlds pickiest eater) kept scooping more and more of it. WIN.

I’m really really excited about this recipe 🙂 I hope you enjoy it too. Please let me know if you end up whipping up a batch!!

 

IMG_3355(1)

Makes: about a pint
Serves: 12+ (depends how much liver you can eat at once!)
Time: 40 minutes
  • 1 pound chicken livers
  • 3 tablespoons lard or bacon fat (you can use schmaltz, I just didn’t have any on hand!)
  • 3/4 Cup onions (packed. About 1 small/medium onion)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 hard boiled egg (optional)*
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
1. Rinse the livers in cold water to wash off blood and pat dry.
2. Cut off the membrane (the white string-like piece)
3. Heat a skillet on low. Once hot add 3 tablespoons of lard and add your onions.
4. Cook for about 15 minutes, until lightly brown and transparent. You’re looking for a caramelized-like effect. Stir every several minutes.
5. Once onions are cooked, place about 1/4 Cup aside in a small dish.
6. Add chicken livers to the remaining onions, still on low heat. Sprinkle salt.
7. Let the livers cook for about 15 minutes (brown on the outside and slightly pink on the inside). Stir every 5 minutes or so to ensure even cooking throughout.
8. Once the livers are done, turn burner off and place the pan aside to cool.
9. After the livers and onions have cooled, add the contents of the pan into your food processor. Pulse until you create a thick, choppy paste (or your desired consistency).
10. Add in the 1/4C onions you put aside earlier and using a spatula, stir them in. *Optional, chop the hard boiled egg and stir that in as well. You could add the egg and extra onions to the food processor if you like your chopped liver more of a pate consistency.
11. Chill. Store in the fridge for 3-4 days, or keep in your freezer.

🙂

Leave a Reply

